WILMINGTON, North Carolina – UNCW junior Payne McLeod carded the second round’s only below-par-score (71) to win his first collegiate tournament and helped the Seahawks to the Seahawk Intercollegiate championship on Monday at the Country Club of Landfall.

The Seahawks edged 22nd-ranked Kent State by a single stroke after tying the Golden Flashes with a second round score of 309. After playing in damp conditions in the opening round, the teams played in harsh winds, with gusts measuring 20-30 miles per hour.

For UNCW, it was their second Seahawk Invitational championship after also winning the event in 2011.

McLeod claimed medalist honors by five strokes over a trio of second-place finishers, including Costal Carolina’s Andrew Dorn and Sebastian Soberberg and Maryland’s Tom Harris.

Joining McLeod in the top-10 was junior Josh Woodfox, who tied for 10th overall with three other golfers. Dylan Harris placed in a tie for 14th. For both, it was career-best finishes.

For the Seahawks, it was their first win of the 2012-13 season, besting their previous top finish of second at the Fightin’ Irish Gridiron Classic in early October. In that tournament, McLeod also finished tied for second, his highest finish prior to this tournament.

The Seahawks will play their final tournament of the regular season on Apr. 6-7 in Charlotte, N.C., at the Irish Creek Intercollegiate. The Colonial Athletic Association championships will be played in Southport, N.C., on Apr. 26-28.

UNCW Results: 1. Payne McLeod, 72-71=143; T10. Josh Woodfox, 71-80=151; T14. Dylan Harris, 74-78=152; T34. Ryan Nagy, 78-80=158; T50. Thomas Bass, 82-80=162.

UNCW Individuals: T28. Stefan Brewer, 75-82=157; T34. Jens Geweke, 80-78=158.

Team Results: 1. UNCW (295-309=604); 2. Kent State (296-309=605); 3. Maryland (302-307=609); 4. Coastal Carolina (311-301=612); T5. Campbell (300-317=617); T5. Davidson (305-312=617); 7. Ohio State (311-307=618); 8. Old Dominion (314-310=624; 9. VCU (317-312=629); 10. East Carolina (317-321=638); 11. Columbia (304-335=639); 12. Delaware (313-331-644)

Individual Results: 1. Payne McLeod (UNCW), 72-71=143; T2. Andrew Dorn (CCU), 74-74=148; T2. Thomas Harris (UMD), 75-73=148; T2. Sebastian Soderberg (CCU), 74-74=148; T5. Kyle Kmiecik (Kent), 75-74=149; T5. Alvaro Veiga (Campbell), 71-78=149; T7. Sam Echikson (Davidson), 77-73=150; T7. Richard Fountain (Davidson), 71-79=150; T7. Taylor Pendrith (Kent), 74-76=150