WILMINGTON, North Carolina – Freshman Preston Harrington and senior Ryan Nagy carded opening-round two-under-par 70’s for UNCW in the Seahawk Intercollegiate on Sunday at the Country Club of Landfall’s Nicklaus Course. UNCW enters the final round in seventh-place.

Despite rain and dropping temperatures, the opening round was a record-setting round for Will Starke and Sam Echikson of South Carolina and Davidson, respectively. Both were tied for the lead after one round after recording tournament record-low rounds of 64, eight-under-par. The duo passed the previous record of 67 set in 2011 and later equaled in 2012.

Through two rounds, Starke also owns the tournament record with a 36-hole total of 137 and the Gamecocks’ 36-hole total of 560 also is a new standard.

The Gamecocks own a 19-stroke lead over East Tennessee after smashing the tournament record of 280 by combining for a 15-under-par score of 273 in round one. Augusta State set the previous mark of 280 in the opening round of the 2010 tournament.

For Harrington, who is tied for 24th to lead the Seahawks, it was a career-low round while it was a season-low round for Nagy.

The Seahawks sit in seventh overall, nine shots behind Campbell and one shot ahead of Wisconsin.

Through Two Rounds

UNCW Team Results: T24. Preston Harrington (70-78=148); T30. Payne McLeod (74-76=150); T32. Stefan Brewer (78-73=151); T38. Ryan Nagy (70-82=152); T63. 73-85=158); Thomas Lilly (73-85=158)

UNCW Individuals: T38. Trey Guy (79-73=152); T63. Josh Woodfox (74-84=158); 77. Jens Geweke (84-87=171)

Team Results: 1. South Carolina (273-287=560); 2. East Tennessee (279-300=579); T3. Louisville (278-303=581); T3. Ohio State (282-299=581); 5. Davidson (278-308=586); 6. Campbell (286-301=587); 7. UNCW (287-309=596); 8. Wisconsin (292-305=597); 9. Elon (300-299=599); 10. Army (293-314=607); 11. East Carolina (298-312=610); 12. Navy (307-315=622); 13. Delaware (308-327=635)

Leaderboard: 1. Will Starke, USC (64-73=137); 2. Sam Echikson, USC (64-74=138); 3. Matthew NeSmith, USC (70-69=139); 4. Will Murphy, USC (69-71=140); 5. Robbie Jacobsen, Wisc. (72-69=141); T6. Tee-K Kelly, OSU (67-75=142); T6. G. Kristjansson, ETSU (67-75=142); T8. Adrian Meronk, ETSU (68-75=143); T8. Gaston Bertinotti, Campbell (72-71=143); T10. Antoine Le Saux, UofL (67-77=144); T10. Ben Dietrich, USC (70-74=144); T10. Logan Jones, OSU (72-72-144)