WILMINGTON, North Carolina – The UNCW women’s golf program looks to capture its third straight conference title as the 2013 Colonial Athletic Association Women’s Golf Championships take place this weekend at St. James Plantation in nearby Southport.

The 54-hole five-count-four tournament begins Friday at 9 a.m. on the par 72, 6,066-yard layout at the Reserve Club, the newest of St. James Plantation's four courses. The second and third rounds are scheduled for Saturday at 9 a.m. and Sunday at 8 a.m.

The tournament is open to the public. Live stats will be available for all three rounds and may be accessed by clicking on the live stats link at the top of the page.

A perennial power in the CAA, the Seahawks have claimed the conference crown in four of the past six seasons after taking the 2012 title with a three-round total of 909 (300-305-304), the third lowest 54-hole team score in tournament history and four shots ahead of runner-up James Madison.

UNCW, which has finished in first or second place in seven of the previous eight conference championships, has also enjoyed individual success at the event with former standouts Carmen Perez-Narbon and Ashley Tait claiming medalist honors in 2009 and 2007, respectively.

Six-time CAA Player-of-the-Week junior Lori Beth Adams will lead the Seahawks into the 2013 Championships. Adams, who leads the Seahawks with a 74.04 stroke average, has posted seven top 10 finishes in 10 events this season, including four top five results. The Burlington, N.C., product has also enjoyed success in the CAA Championships, claiming third in the 2012 event with a three-day total of 222 (74-76-72) to earn All-Tournament Team accolades.

Joining Adams in the UNCW lineup will be senior Danielle Lamy (83.57), junior Megan Burnham (82.40) and sophomores Mattie Tobey (78.66) and Mallory Warrick (79.09).

The winner of the 2013 CAA Women’s Golf Championships will receive the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Women’s Golf Regionals, scheduled for May 9-11 in Auburn, Ala. (East), Norman, Okla. (Central) and Stanford, Calif. (West).